Deja Vu

So it’s coming up to that time of year again, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult to find some time to myself to relax. In my last post, I mentioned that there were pressing times ahead – little did I appreciate how much of an understatement that was. As I wake up after a 14 hour sleep following an all nighter with childhood best friend Charles, attempting to understand the curious depths of Photoshop, a chilling realisation hits me. I’ve been here before.

We pulled the same all nighter this time last year (+/- 5 days), the same time I was swamped with work due to the huge Operating Systems lab we had, Pintos. This year, it’s not one massive piece of work, but a sum of parts – with my final year individual project, 3 group projects and a piece of coursework all running simultaneously, all but one due in before elections. Ah yes, elections – that happened last year too.

In fact, quite a few things are repeating again. Around this time last year, I got through to the interview stage of a national engineering leadership award run by the Royal Academy of Engineering. I also broke many stories in Felix regarding cyber security and privacy issues. Interestingly, here I am again, shortlisted for the Cadzow Smith engineering leadership award (run by the Worshipful Company of Engineers). It would appear that universities nominate one person each for the prize, so I feel privileged to get this far. It would also appear that Imperial’s nominees have won first prize in 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2006, 2007,2008, 2010 and 2011… No pressure.

As for the stories regarding privacy issues? Well, I’ve been sustaining more than my average output for Felix these few weeks, and it’s not like I wrote a story on methods which could be used to rig the National Student Survey after being alerted to it by Computing students. It’s not like I provided commentary either, or like it got into the London Student newspaper too…

The feeling of déjà vu given by all of these re-occurrences combined is slightly frustrating, and the workload doesn’t help, but I’m going to power on and see everything through giving it my all, just like I did last time. One thing I appreciate is that I’m at least in better company this time round.

Alex Kara

About Alexander Karapetian

Software Engineer & Computer Scientist from Imperial College.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deja Vu

  1. Kerone P-X-Che says:

    Hey Alex, with great power, troupes a massive electricity bill :) all jokes aside however; I find myself hard pressed to do anything, other than agree, Charles is probably the most appropriate company. (If in fact, it is the Charles from SPHS) All things considered, his self motivation is similar to yours, which makes him an apt study buddy, so even though I’ve not exactly touched on all the matters in your article, I’d just like to say, best of luck to both of you as the 11th hour draws near.

  2. Thanks Kerone! It is indeed NGEN yeah. That’s really nice of you, I hope you’re well :)

Leave a Reply

