Meeting Halfway

Update: I got the award! Yay!

As the 2011 exam season closely approaches (15:11:06:51 to my first exam at the time of writing in DD:HH:MM:SS format), I can’t help but notice I’m almost halfway through my degree (or entering my final year, depending on how things pan out). This amuses me, since I can’t say it’s felt like two years at all. Nonetheless, I hear the amount of lectures decreases significantly next year and working hours consist of group projects instead.

I was in a group of three working on a project known as Pintos over the last few months. It’s touted as one of the hardest group projects in the entirety of the course and has been the source of extreme stress for many, and to have overcome such hardships with a multitude of good experiences with my team members Josh and Steven puts a smile on my face. I ran a university-wide campaign alongside this also, the results of which were fairly close, ultimately leaving me as a runner up. The last week of term involved a string of stressful failures including that of my driving test, adding insult to injury. It did, however, end on a high, and with the currently published grades for Pintos appearing very good, I emerged from these situations with net optimism for the future.

I would be lying, however, if I said the holiday gave me time to relax (though I took this time regardless). Around two weeks ago, I travelled to Warwick University for a selection event by the Royal Academy of Engineering regarding their Advanced Leadership Awards. Candidates from across the UK were narrowed down to seventy, each of which were interviewed at a two day event at Warwick Uni’s conference centre. It was a fun weekend, with plenty of intellectual banter. Computing appeared to others on the boundary of science and engineering, rendering me somewhat theoretical in comparison to the other engineering courses represented. The interviews went quite well, and I’ll find out the results next week.

A day after arriving home from Warwick, I turned twenty years old. The good old halfway point, though one of the times during which arguably the most interesting events occur. No longer a teenager, it’ll be interesting to see what the twenties holds in store. Much like last year, I’ve been getting back into gear with revision – this time with a wider range of resources being made available by coursemates (thanks guys!), with my exam season running through May.

There is much to look forward to in any case, notably attending the BAFTAs for the second time and working in the summer. I must also comment on my anticipation for playing Pokemon Black and Portal 2, which I’m saving for after the exams. Exciting times ahead!

Alex Kara

About Alexander Karapetian

Software Engineer & Computer Scientist from Imperial College.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

