Herding The Sheep

Last week, I talked about a piece of investigative journalism I was carrying out for Felix, and I just finished writing the follow-up for it. Turns out it’s caused quite a bit of commotion in my department, and in others. The article in question is here.

Briefly, it’s about my use of a tool called FireSheep, which performs packet inspection over unsecured wireless networks (one of which we have in the Department of Computing (for test devices, not for general use (but people still use it for its stronger signal strength))) and how with it, one could access accounts of unsuspecting users. Accounts such as Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr and the like. I interviewed various people and got a myriad of reactions, some angry and some surprised.

I find all the commotion quite amusing. I’ve decided to investigate some potential flaws with the WPA network used on campus now. Got an idea on my way to go clubbing yesterday, shan’t say anything of it, could be onto something.

Otherwise, I get Internet at my house this Friday, so I’ll be able to make more frequent, less rushed posts in future. I’m also thinking about getting the HTC HD 7, I quite like the new Windows Phones.

About Alexander Karapetian

Software Engineer & Computer Scientist from Imperial College.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

